Residents: 1.283 (as at: June 2020)
Location: north-east of the core town
Attractions: Öschberg golf course and golf hotel. The entire Baar region attends the Aasen village festival which takes place at the beginning of September and is extremely popular with young and old alike.
In 973, Aasen was first mentioned in a gift from Count Berthold to the Reichenau monastery. Between the years 1000 and 1250, it was the home of Aasenheim county and partly also the official residence of Duke Berthold II of Zähringen. The village belonged to the Baar Fürstenberg region until 1806. The symbol of the coat of arms is reminiscent of the Lords of Bagheim, who resided in Aasen as Fürstenberg bailiffs in the 14th and 15th century. The municipality belonged to the office of Hüfingen. The official residence was relocated to Donaueschingen in 1844 and has belonged to the district of Donaueschingen since 1939. On 1 February 1972, Aasen was incorporated into the town of Donaueschingen. The decision was made between Bad Dürrheim and Donaueschingen.
The municipality lies in a picturesque location north-east of the core town of Donaueschingen amongst the hills of the surrounding crest landscape.
With over 1000 residents, Aasen is one of the largest communities in the east Baar region, but is still largely rural. Agriculture still plays a main role here. The small village character is increasingly pushed back. The job situation has significantly improved as a result of a new industrial estate. Aasen is one of the most popular places to live in the region thanks to its scenic location. The “eco village” is characterised by its natural landscape, tree-lined avenues and orchards. A well-maintained golf course and hotel complex is situated in the south, in front of the community. It was built as part of land consolidation in 1966.